Jean E. Duensing Literary Award History

Jean E. Duensing worked at the Missouri State Medical Association for 18 years as the Alliance Liaison and Managing Editor for Missouri Medicine. After her retirement in 1985, the Jean E. Duensing Award was established by the Alliance to honor an Alliance member for excellence in journalism and member communications. She was honored at the Alliance Annual Meeting in Kansas City 1985 with the Outstanding Service Award. After that year, Alliance members were nominated by their peers to the state liaison for the award.

1986

An agenda item in the Auxiliary Official Program mentions on Friday, April 4, 1986, that a Literary Award was given by Laurie Ellison, MSMA Liaison to the Auxiliary, but the recipient is not listed in the minutes or subsequent *Auxiligram*.

1987

Jean Duensing, herself, presented *Auxiligram* journalism awards for outstanding feature writing to Kathryn Lucas, Boone County Medical Society Alliance, for outstanding health project report to Dunklin County.

1988

Buchanan County Medical Society Alliance, for the LITE program and to Marge Perkins, St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance, for her articles on "Driving Fore Membership."

1989

Kathryn Lucas, Boone County Medical Society Alliance, received the award for her excellent article on depressive illness.

1990

Mary Hunkeler, Metropolitan Medical Society of Greater Kansas City Alliance, for writing on legislative issues.

1991

Elizabeth Huffaker, received the award for her communications to the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance.

1992

Elizabeth Huffaker, St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance, received the award for her coverage of the Shaken Baby Syndrome Project and family violence.

1993

Marge Perkins, received the award for her communications contributions to the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance.

Mary Ann Duff, Greene County/Barbie Lyons, received the award for the Greene County Medical Society Alliance Newsletter *The Spinal Column*.

1995

Sunny McCown and Darlene Bonsanti, St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance, received the award in acknowledgment in the development of a grant-financed brochure, "Dating Abuse."

1996

(Tenth Annual) Nona Nan Chapman, Cape Girardeau County Area Medical Society Alliance, received the award in recognition for her creative newsletters for the MSMAA Board.

1997

Kathie Hazuka, Metropolitan Medical Society of Greater Kansas City, received the award for her diligent and artistic work on the *Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance Newsletter*.

1998

Joan H'Doubler, Greene County Medical Society Alliance, received the award for outstanding literary contributions.

1999

Gillian Waltman, St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance, received the award for service as co-editor of *St. Louis Medicine*.

2000

Carol Jean DeFeo, Metropolitan Medical Society of Greater Kansas City Alliance, received the award in recognition for her assertive efforts in gathering and editing more than 500 cookbook recipes for the DeNovo Cookbook Project; for assisting in the production of the Alliance's 2000 Annual Convention Official Program; for her production of the Kansas City Alliance's newsletter; for her creative design use for programs, registrations forms, and other items for the Convention; and for assisting the MSMA staff liaison, Lizabeth Starnes, in her first year in this position.

2001

Anne Turnbaugh, Cole County Medical Society Alliance, received the award in recognition of her contributions for the *Alliance Report* and *Windows Across Missouri*.

2002

Cindy Gregston, Greene County Medical Society Alliance, received the award for her work on the newsletter and the directory.

Lea Morrison, received the award in recognition because she the editor and publisher of her Clay-Platte County Medical Society Alliance newsletter and directory. Her guidance has insured that the newsletter has been published in a consistent and timely manner.

2004

Gillian Waltman, St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance, is no stranger to writing and editing and staying on deadline. She is quick with her camera and quick with her pen. She received the award for her contributions to the *Alliance Report* and comprehensive coverage of the Fall Conference and Day at the Legislature.

2005

Barbara Prasad, President of Cole County Medical Society Alliance, MU Journalism School graduate, like Mrs. Duensing, put her energy into her local Alliance, and not only created opportunities to serve the membership but to communicate to them through an exciting, sparkling newsletter. Through her communication efforts, the Alliance has increased its membership and raised awareness to local hospitals and other local organizations.

2006

Jasper Newton Metropolitan Medical Alliance Co-Presidents Cindi Dugger and Tracy Wade, received the award for keeping their membership informed of upcoming events with professionally designed monthly newsletters. The newsletters are colorful and pleasing to the eye with excellent use of photographs and graphics.

2007

Eileen Dyer, Buchanan County, received the award in recognition of her constancy and dedication to the Alliance's state archives, for their upkeep, for what they represent, and to a woman who finds them important.

2008

Jessica DiBernardo, Clay-Platte County, received the award in recognition of her consistent communications with the newsletter and via email alerting the Alliance members of important events and news.

2009

Debbie Schaaf, Buchanan County, received the award in recognition of her actions, her knowledge of the area - her hometown - the culture, and medical relationships, her service now as president and her usual thoughtful methodology with a large dash of originality in approaching this job as a tireless worker and communicating the value of the Alliance.

Barbara Hover, Greene County, received the award for her work on the "Smoking Makes Me Ugly" DVD distribution project. The DVD has grown to a statewide and national project, teaching youth the dangers of tobacco use.

2011

Judy Corry, Greene County, received the award for her work involving the recent major revision of the bylaws. Judy is an MSMA Alliance Past President and served as Chair of the Bylaws Committee for many years.

2012

Cape Girardeau County Medical Society Alliance for their use of Facebook in their communication program.

2013

Sue Ann Greco, St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance, in honor of her communicating with her St. Louis Alliance about the area activities.

2014

Claire Applewhite, St. Louis, for authoring the humorous mystery plot "Thunderbolt" for the Foundation Fundraiser Dinner and Auction.

2015

Boone County Alliance for using a variety of digital media to promote their Alliance.

2016

Jana Wolfe, Greene, for her support of using social media in the communications aspect of Alliance news and programming.

2017

Kelly O'Leary, St. Louis, for her willingness to speak out at various Alliance, physician and community meetings in the past year on opioid abuse and misuse after the untimely and tragic loss of her son.

2018

Sue Ann Greco, St. Louis, for communication with the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society Alliance.

2019

Sana Saleh, Kansas City, for producing an informative and interesting monthly newsletter for her county members.

2020

Allene Wright, St. Joseph, for keeping the records of the MSMA Alliance finance and budget/treasury.

Sue Ann Greco, St. Louis for her outstanding leadership and performance during 2020-2021 by attracting Alliance members nationwide for the Monthly All Member Virtual Gatherings by designing topics that captured the interests of all groups and addressed health issues facing our communities.